January 1st brings lots of things – resolutions, fresh starts, and, inevitably, the occasional letter with a 2008 year written in, instead of 2009.
But traditionally, it also marks the effective date for a few more Connecticut laws. (October 1st is also a big date for many new laws).
So what does January 1st bring for employers?
- Minimum Wage – The state minimum wage has gone up again — this time to $8.00 per hour, up 35 cents. It is the first part of a two-year increase. In 2010, it will increase to $8.25 per hour.
- Professional Employer Organizations and Employee Misclassification – I covered part of this back a few months ago where a new commission was established as part of this new Act. Another part of the act concerns "professional employment organizations" and regulating companies that provide leased employees and similar activities. New rules require such companies to register with the Department of Labor. The Department now has the forms necessary up on its website and has also added a FAQ section.
- New rules regarding construction safety also go into effect. For employers in Connecticut in the industry, it means more training. I summarized the new law back in May 2008 here.
A full list of all the new Connecticut laws can be found here.