If you’re like me, your brain can only handle so much during the summer months. Between vacations and the start of school, it can be easy to overlook some of the employment law developments from the last month or two. So I thought I’d use the next few blog posts to provide a catch up.
With summer vacations in full swing, there’s an upcoming deadline that employers should be mindful of coming up at the end of the month.
Connecticut businesses with five or more employees have less than two weeks before a deadline to register with a state-run program intended to provide a retirement savings
Over the weekend, I was joking with a friend that we’ve seen more changes in employment law in the last 18 months than the last 18 years.
That’s an exaggeration of course. But it certainly does feel like there’s been a lot of changes. Sometimes it’s hard to catch up. So rather than a long…
As the Delta variant continues make its presence known, more employers are continuing to explore mandatory vaccination policies for their staff. This comes on the heels of Governor Lamont’s executive order that requires teachers and others to be vaccinated against COVID-19 or submit to weekly testing.
My colleagues and I have been fielding questions on…
If you’ve read this blog long enough, you know that certain workers are classified as “exempt” from the overtime requirements. The most well-known of these are the white-collar exemptions of executive, administrative and professional personnel.
But state law has several other categories of exemptions you may never have heard about such as a chief…
Back in October, I provided a preliminary assessment of what a COVID-19 vaccine might mean for employers. But as I noted back then, the EEOC’s guidance was not yet updated.
Now, the EEOC has finally provided an update of sorts for employers.
In doing so, the new guidance makes plain what many of us suspected…
The timing for employers (which is basically any private business) to register with the state for the new Paid Family Medical Leave program couldn’t be worse or better, depending on your perspective. It started November 1, 2020 and continues to run.
In just six weeks, employers will be required to start withholding .5% of a…
Today I had the opportunity to talk with a old friend in Spain via FaceTime. We hadn’t talked in months, but I’m sure like a lot of you, this pandemic has a way of bringing us together.
The same concerns that we have in Connecticut and the same issues we face are being addressed around…
Update: A few days after this post, the General Assembly failed to give final approval to this measure, leaving it to die at the end of the legislative session on May 9, 2018.
Early Friday morning, the state Senate approved a bill that would significant broaden the sexual harassment prevention training requirements and many other provisions in discrimination law. A similar (but notably different) bill passed the House; now, this Senate bill on the House calendar for this week.
It’s not a done deal just yet, but here are the key provisions of Senate Bill 132 (as amended) as it seems probable this bill is close to final passage. Thanks to the OLR for summarizing the key aspects of the bill of which I’ve borrowed heavily from.
- The bill would change the training requirements for sexual harassment prevention.
- It would require training for supervisory employees of all employers, regardless of size
- For nonsupervisory employees of employers with 20 or more employees, it would also require training.
- Overall, the training would need to take place by October 1, 2019 with some additional tweaks specified in the bill.
- The bill requires CHRO to develop and make available to employers an online training and education video or other interactive method of training and education that fulfills the bill’s training requirements.
- Under the bill, employers who are required to provide such training must, at least every ten years, provide supplemental training to update employees on the content of the training and education.
INFORMATION AND POSTING
- Currently, employers must post a notice that (1) that sexual harassment is illegal and (2) of the remedies available to victims. Under the bill, this information must be sent to employees by email, within three months of hire, if the (1) employer has provided an email account to the employee or (2) employee has provided the employer with an email address. The email’s subject line must include “Sexual Harassment Policy” or something similar.